Provincial powers

Midgets repeat as OMHA champs

The Kincardine Miller Insurance midget rep Kinucks claimed the OMHA B provincial championship for a  second straight year on Sunday afternoon with a 3-2 win in Penetang in Game 3 of the All-Ontario finals. For the full story, don't miss this week's print edition of The Kincardine Independent!

Midget AE Kinucks even series

Game 3 part 1 of Saturday OMHA double header

THe Kincardine Besiel Construction midget AE Kinucks have tied the OMHA GR3 AE championship series.

Kincardine's additional entry midget team scored a come-from-behind 3-2 win last night (Thursday) in Mooretown. Mooretown had won Game 1 of the series in Kincardine on Sunday. That evens the best-of-five series at one game each, with Game 3 tomorrow night (Saturday) at the Davidson Centre.

The puck drops at 6 p.m. for an important third game of this series. It's the first of a all-midget, all-OMHA championship Saturday in Kincardine.


Kate Lippington celebrates Ripley's empty net goal in the dying seconds of Game 2 of the WOAA Jacobi Division Finals. The novice Wolf Cubs took two OT wins on the way to a three-game sweep, and championship win. For the full story, see this week's sports section! (Josh Howald photo)

An All-Ontario Saturday night at the Davidson Centre

Midget teams play back-to-back OMHA games this weekend

By Josh Howald

How about a Saturday night double feature for the family?

Kincardine has two teams left in the hunt for an OMHA championship, and both happen to be midget-aged teams. And both will play Saturday night at the Davidson Centre, beginning at 6 p.m.

“We need all the support we can get, especially in the finals,” said Mitch Burrows, a forward with the Beisel Contracting midgets. “There is nothing that pumps the boys up like a full barn.”

The Beisel Contracting Kinucks, Kincardine’s second entry team, will face Mooretown in Game 3 of the OMHA GR3 Championship series. The Kinucks dropped Game 1 of this series at home Sunday afternoon in a close, tight checking game. Game 2 of the series is tomorrow (Thursday) night in Mooretown at 7:30 p.m., so this series will certainly look significantly different by the time it returns home.

Wolf Cubs bring home WOAA

By Josh Howald

How sweep it is.

A surprised looking Mitchell forward took the worst of a collision with Dawson MacDonnell (skating away) along the boards during Game 2 in Ripley. (Josh Howald photo)


Take a hard working novice team, mix in a bus trip, a near capacity crowd and some overtime magic and wind up on a firetruck.

The Ripley novices completed a three-game sweep on the weekend to win the WOAA Jacobi Division playoff championship. But it was far from a cakewalk. Two of the three games needed to be settled with overtime.

Canadian evolution?

These three Kincardine tyke hockey players collided in a heap during Saturday morning's exhibition with Walkerton, and had varying recovery times. All players from Kincardine and Walkerton put on a great show in an evenly matched game at the Davidson Centre. (Josh Howald photo)

Party like an OldStar!

OldStars tournament set for this weekend

By Josh Howald

You don’t have to be an oldtimer, or a hockey player, to enjoy the OldStars hockey weekend.

The Kincardine Erie Belle OldStars hockey team has been operating this weekend party for 37 years now, and they have learned a few things over the years.

“Well, we kick the whole weekend off with the tykes on Friday night,” said OldStars defenceman Dan McFadden. “(The OldStars) always sponsor a game for the tykes – they play a real game, then get a hotdog and drink and goodies.”

Midgets up one coming home

Game 2 Saturday night in town

By Josh Howald

It will be the most watched hockey game of the year in Kincardine.

Call it good scheduling, call it luck of the draw if you wish, but a perfect storm of events is happening that will no doubt lead to the Davidson Centre being jam packed for Game 2 of the Midget B OMHA Championship Series Saturday night.

Leading up to, during, and after the game, live entertainment and refreshments are being served down the hall at the 37th annual OldStars tournament, which will be running all day. A dance is being held that night, with no admission to enter. A great opening act is lined up, with the midget additional entry team facing Mooretown in Game 3 of another All-Ontario final series. That game is a 6 p.m. start.

Then, at roughly 7:30 p.m., the main event will begin.

Think pink

Brenda Parker watches as Cathy Murdoc sweeps on Saturday during the Think Pink ladies bonspiel at the Kincardine Curling Club. This team of Goderich women were pretty in pink to support those affected by cancer. (Josh Howald photo)

Midget AE Kinucks on road tomorrow

Trail OMHA Finals 1-0

By Josh Howald

The Beisel Contracting midget AE Kinucks are headed for Mooretown, looking for a win.

Kincardine trails Mooretown 1-0 in the OMHA Midget AEGR3 Championship Series after being edged out 3-1 on home ice Sunday afternoon at the Davidson Centre. Tomorrow (Thursday), the team will board a bus for Mooretown, looking to even the best-of-five series.

“It will be tied coming home,” said forward Mitch Burrows. “We just have to keep our heads in line and put it to them in their own town. We have to want it a lot more than them.”

The Kinucks wanted it Sunday, they just didn’t get it. Mooretown, who has not lost a game on this playoff run to the OMHA finals, is a deep, quick club, but certainly did not dominate a shorthanded Kincardine squad. The Kinucks will have big defenceman Coulten Hendrie back from suspension for Game 2 tomorrow night, and hopefully and handful of others will have returned from vacations.