Silver Stick champions!

Burrows scores in OT to lift peewees to title

Brett Burrows scored in overtime to lift the Kincardine Legion peewees to a Regional Silver Stick championship this afternoon in dramatic fashion.

Brett Burrows is mobbed by teammates after scoring the overtime winning goal in today's peewee B championship game at the Kincardine Regional Silver Stick. (Josh Howald photo)

The goal gave Kincardine its second straight peewee title at the tournament and its 10th championship in 23 years.

Kincardine trailed this extremely entertaining game 2-0, but fought back to tie the game with eight minutes remaining and force overtime.

Kincardine dominated the first period, but Tavistock scored the only goal of the frame on a fluke bounce with three minutes left. Tyler Stock got credit for the goal, which bounced off a skate and past Ethan Primeau.

Tavistock then made it 2-0 midway through the second on a goal everybody in a packed Davidson Centre could see coming. After a wild scramble in front, Primeau lost his stick and the puck eventually squirted out to the point. Tyler Trachsel made no mistake in burying the loose puck up high. Jeremy Kropf assisted on the goal.

It seemed only a matter of time before Kincardine fought back, and the Kinucks finally struck with six minutes left in the second period. Burrows carried the puck the length of the ice and got the puck down low to Marshall Smith. Smith fed Shane Vollmer at the point. Vollmer's hard shot was stopped, but Kurt Dunsbier potted the rebound to make it a 2-1 game.

With eight minutes left, Dalton Hayes threaded a nice pass to Scott McFarlan on the doorstep to tie the game.

Tavistock's goaltender Jensen Van Boekel had an exceptional game, as did Kincardine defenceman Garrett McFadden. 

Kincardine advances to the International Silver Stick Championships in Port Huron. The Kinucks have three returning players from last year's International championship winning team.

In other finals today, Norwich beat Seaforth for the novice C title, South Huron beat Goderich 8-7 in a barn burner of a novice B final and Bruce Peninsula edged out Seaforth 1-0 to win the peewee C championship.

For the full story, results and photos, pick up the next edition of the Kincardine Independent.