Eadie to serve another term as mayor

Twolan re-elected mayor of Huron-Kinloss

By Barb McKay

Anne Eadie will serve a second term as mayor of the Municipality of Kincardine.

Eadie received 3,435 votes, beating out fellow mayoral candidate Ron Stephens who received 374 votes.

Marie Wilson will be deputy mayor after receiving the most votes (2,910) as councilor-at-large. Doug Kennedy (2,764), incumbent Laura Haight (2,593 votes) and Dave Cuyler (1,957) will serve as councilors-at-large. Incumbents Andrew White and Gord Campbell received 1,324 and 1,267 respectively.

Incumbent Maureen Wilson received 1,658 votes and Gerry Glover received 1,485 votes to serve as Ward 1 councillors. Adam Cherry came in third with 444 votes.

Bill Stewart becomes the new Ward 2 councillor with 769 votes, beating out incumbent Linda McKee who received 285 votes. Randy Roppel was acclaimed Ward 3 councillor.

Voter turnout was 39.38 per cent.

In Huron-Kinloss, incumbent Mitch Twolan will serve another term after receiving 1,846 votes. Fellow mayoral candidate Brian MacEachern received 922 votes. Twolan has served as mayor of the township for 14 years.

Long-time councillor Don Murray has been elected deputy mayor with 1,680 votes. He ran against Perry Elliott, who received 1,018 votes.

Voter turnout was 39 per cent.

Jan Johnstone was acclaimed trustee Bluewater District School Board trustee for Kincardine and Huron-Kinloss Township and Lori DiCastri was acclaimed Bruce Grey Catholic District School Board trustee for the same region.