Be sure you're on the voters’ list



The municipal elections will be held on Monday, Oct. 22.


This year, the Municipality of Kincardine will be using an internet/telephone voting system for the first time. There will not be paper ballots. Electors should receive a notice in the mail by mid-October providing instructions on how to vote and a secure PIN number to use.


To be entitled to vote you must reside in or own property in the Municipality of Kincardine; be a Canadian citizen at least 18-years-old; and not be prohibited from voting under the Municipal Elections Act or another law. Be sure to check if you are on the Voters’ List, especially if you have recently moved, turned 18 or received your Canadian Citizenship or if you are a post-secondary student.


A list of eligible voters is available to view during regular business hours at the Municipal Administration Centre or the Underwood satellite office. You can also call 519-396-3468 ext. 7113 or visit the municipal website and click Election 2018 to confirm you are on the list. If attending in person, please bring photo ID, such as your passport or driver’s licence. If you’re not on the list or if changes need to be made, you must complete an Application to Amend the Voters’ List and return it to the municipal office.


Voting opens on Oct. 15 at 8:30 a.m. and closes Oct. 22 at 8:00 p.m. Results will be posted on the municipal website. If you require assistance or access to the internet for voting, the Municipal Administration Centre at 1475 Concession 5 will be open Oct. 15-19 from 8:30 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.; Saturday, Oct. 20 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday, Oct. 21 from noon to 4 p.m.; and Monday, Oct. 22 from 8:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.


Confirmed electoral candidates for the Municipality of Kincardine are:


Mayor (one to be elected): Anne Eadie and Ron Stephens.


Councillor-At-Large (four to be elected): Gord Campbell, Dave Cuyler, Laura Haight, Doug Kennedy, Andrew White and Marie Wilson. The candidate elected with the most votes will be declared deputy mayor.


Councillor Ward 1 (two to be elected): Adam Cherry, Maureen Couture and Gerry Glover.


Councillor Ward 2 (one to be elected): Linda McKee and Bill Stewart.


Councillor Ward 3: Randy Roppel - Acclaimed


School Board Trustees: BWDSB, Jan Johnstone - Acclaimed; BGCDSB, Lori Anne DiCastri - Acclaimed; French-language public #58 (one to be elected), Guy Belcourt, Saveria Caruso and Eric Lapointe.