Final list of candidates announced for Municipal Election 2018



By Pauline Kerr


Municipal Election 2018 promises to be an exciting one locally, with races for mayor in both Kincardine and Huron-Kinloss, for deputy mayor in Huron-Kinloss, and a six-way race for three councillor-at-large seats in Kincardine.


In Kincardine, Rob Stephens entered the race for mayor, running against incumbent Anne Eadie.


Kincardine has three people seeking two Ward 1 councillor seats: incumbent Maureen Couture, Adam Cherry and Gerry Glover. Mike Leggett is not seeking re-election. There are two people seeking to represent Ward 2: incumbent Linda McKee and Bill Stewart. There’ll be no race in Ward 3, since incumbent Randy Roppel was the only candidate to submit nomination papers.


All three councillors-at-large in Kincardine are running for another term: Gord Campbell, Laura Haight and Andrew White. However, three more people are seeking to unseat them: Marie Wilson, Dave Cuyler and Doug Kennedy. The candidate with the most votes will become deputy mayor. Current Deputy Mayor Jacqueline Faubert is not seeking re-election.


The official Huron-Kinloss candidates list shows two people seeking the position of mayor: incumbent Mitch Twolan and Brian MacEachern.


There will also be an election for deputy mayor. Don Murray, presently a member of council, is being challenged by Perry Elliott.


There will be no election for the five council seats since five people submitted nomination papers: Lillian Abbot, Jeff Elliott, James Hanna and Carl Sloetjes will be joined by Edward McGugan.


On election day, Oct. 22, voters will also choose school board trustees for the Bluewater District School Board, Bruce Grey Catholic District School Board and the French Public School Board.