Thompson named Minister of Education



Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson has been given a key role in the new Ontario government.


On Friday, Premier Doug Ford announced the new Ontario ‘Government for the People’ had been sworn in. Ford reduced the number of ministers to 20 from 29 under the previous Liberal government. Seven of the new ministers are women, including Thompson, who has been named Minister of Education. Thompson was elected to serve Huron-Bruce for a third term.


"I will never forget why I'm here: to work for the people of Ontario," Ford said in a statement. "I promised the people that I would help make our great province the best place in North America when it comes to business, creating jobs and raising a family. And I am going to keep my promise."


Ford met with The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario to present his recommendations for appointments to Ontario's Executive Council. Other key appointments include Christine Elliott as Minister of Health and Long-Term Care and Deputy Premier and Caroline Mulroney as Attorney General and minister responsible for franchophone affairs. Nipissing MPP Vic Fedeli, who served briefly as interim leader of the PC Party following Patrick Brown’s resignation, has been named Minister of Finance. Oxford MPP Ernie Hardemen will serve as Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.