OT win gives Radars 3-2 lead


An overtime win on Sunday evening in Petrolia gives the Clinton Radars a chance to win a WOAA Senior AA crown on home ice Friday night.

In the first four games of this championship senior hockey series, the home team came out on top. The Radars finally broke that trend Sunday in Game 5 with an OT victory.

Ryan Murphy scored at 13:08 of the first overtime period to give Clinton a 5-4 win in Game 5. The Radars had forced overtime with a goal from Stefan Salituro with a little more than five minutes remaining in regulation time. Sean Consitt, Tyler Doig and Mike Jarmuth also scored for Clinton. Adam Arsenault, Kraig Wright, Jesse Drydak and Ryan Trottier scored for Petrolia.

Clinton outshot the Squires 43-23 in this game – in which not a single penalty was called. It was a far cry from Game 4 the previous night in Clinton. Game 4 was filled with penalties and saw five different players ejected in a 7-3 Radars win.

The Radars will try to wrap things up Friday night at 8:30 p.m. If the Squires are able to force a seventh game, then the teams will play a one-game showdown for all the marbles Saturday night in Petrolia at 7 p.m.

That’s what happened in the WOAA Senior A playoffs. Huron East and Milverton played a seventh and final game for a championship on Saturday night in Seaforth. Huron East once held a 3-0 lead in this series, but the 4-Wheel Drives completed the improbable comeback with a 10-5 win in Game 7 to win the Senior A championship.

- Josh Howald