Hutchinson wins Major Curling League title


Al Hutchinson’s RAM Promotional rink is 2016 Major Curling League champion.

Hutchinson claimed the Brokerlink Insurance Trophy last Wednesday night at the Port Elgin Curling Club with an 8-7 win over Jeff Thomson’s Chesley rink.

Both Hutchinson and Thomson took runs at each other but couldn’t pull away. Hutchinson sealed the win with a precise draw on the final shot of the game.

The B Final was also a nailbiter. Don Bartley came from behind to slide past Steve Gregg 6-5. AJ Schumaker won the C Final with a big seventh end, and the D Final also went to the wire when Tom Slumskie flipped places with Kincardine’s Les Shane and his BDO Canada rink.